Stop Creating “Ordinary” Powerpoint Presentations!

I keep telling myself this every time I start creating a new deck. I have come to a point in my career that almost every week there’s a new presentation to be created or reviewed. Countless are the slides I’ve created containing many bullet points and paragraphs trying to communicate my message. At first, it seemed so obvious and acceptable as I just focused on finishing my presentation. The more time I spend on PowerPoint presentations, the harder it gets to look at my slides. So I’ve embarked on research to find  ideas for improving my presentations.

So here are some useful resources I’d like to share:

#1. How to avoid death by PowerPoint by David JP Phillips – very insightful presentation. David advises to focus on one message per slide, stop using sentences and limit items to only six per slide. Definitely worthwhile watching his TED talk.

 

#2. Michael Brennan’s HBR article “To Persuade People Trade PowerPoint for Papier-mâché” – if you have a really important presentation and want to make an impact, then definitely read this article. PowerPoint is just one tool but not the only one. There are other, more impactful ways to deliver an amazing presentation.

#3. If you’re struggling with how to deliver a persuasive presentation, I’d suggest you also read the following HBR article “A Checklist for More Persuasive Presentations” by Dorie Clark. It’s a great reminder of some foundational rules for impactful presentations.

Please share your thoughts on the suggested reading or if you have other useful sources, please feel free to share them in the comments section.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

